WEP: I Saw You!

The first time I tried to see your face,
it was hidden by stacks of gifts in place.

The second time I tried to see your face,
you ran away at such a rapid pace.

The third time I tried to see your face,
I decided to be a detective and made this my case.

The fourth time I tried to see your face,
I only saw splashes of red, white and a thick bearded trace.

The fifth time I tried to see your face,
daddy, that you? Stop hiding behind the bookcase!


Tagline: A child’s curiosity leads to an unexpected discovery.

Word Count – 92 words: For comments, anything works.

This month’s WEP musical theme is ‘The First Time (Ever I Saw Your Face)’ by Ewan MacColl.

29 responses to “WEP: I Saw You!”

  1. So sweet! Love how the child gets older & wiser!

    Like

    1. She after all aims to be a detective

      Like

  2. So cute, ,the perfect holiday treat.
    Happy Holidays!

    Like

    1. Happy holidays! (For at least what’s left of them, anyway).

      Like

  3. So cute and fun! Children’s POV is the hardest to nail and the loveliest to read. Great use of the prompt as usual. Season’s greetings to you.

    Like

    1. Hi,
      I really enjoyed this. I could see the child playing hide & seek with her daddy. Excellent!
      Shalom aleichem

      Like

      1. Thanks Nilanjana & Pat 🙂 I’m glad you both enjoyed it.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I saw mama kissing Santa Claus. Haha. Kids are curious.
    Nancy

    Like

    1. They should’ve been more careful 😉

      Like

  5. So lovely. Beautiful post for the prompt in so few words. Thanks Bernadette. And thanks for being an enthusiastic member of WEP.

    Happy Christmas 🎄

    Like

    1. Thanks for all the hardwork y’all put in for hosting too. 😍

      Like

  6. Hi Bernadette – ha ha … great take on the prompt … hallo Daddy! Well done … fun – cheers Hilary

    Like

    1. I guess he’s still hiding 🙈

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Hello. Good story. From where did you get the idea for it?

    Like

    1. I started with looking up words that rhyme with ‘face’, the idea then just clicked while searching. 🙂

      Like

  8. This is super cute😍😍

    Like

  9. This is so sweet, playful, and fun! I absolutely loved it!

    Like

  10. I am late to the party (very late) but am smiling. Thank you for this entry – and congratulations on your WEP award.

    Like

    1. Not too late, I’m still catching up on the comments 😅

      Like

  11. Aww, great to go with the holiday. Congrats on the win.

    Like

Leave a comment



Other posts you may be interested in…

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started